Publishing house

Shift Books

Values

In addition to aesthetic demands on individual book design, feel and material, we focus on sustainable and, if possible, vegan production. #proudtoprintvegan

Collaborative

We believe that together we can create new synergies in order to Unleash the creative potential in everyone.

Empowering

We support ideas that bring new and old
Overcoming barriers and so creating opportunities, creative content to promote, design and publish.

Forward Thinking

We think that new technologies and other
approaches help us to create designers in
of a traditional sector.

Books

Combining print and digital

Our exhibition publication POWER PLANTS by the Berlin artist duo kennedy+swan shows how classic print media can be transported into the 21st century: Using a smartphone app, the virtually argued images come to life, the publication becomes interactive – a symbiosis between digital and printed content.

Publish sustainably

As an art book publisher, we publish our books in a holistically sustainable way and vegan whenever possible. With the monograph of the artist Bianca Kennedy we were able to completely avoid animal components in paper, colours, thread and auxiliary materials and thus fulfil all criteria of the V-Label certification. It is important to us that our production and delivery processes are short and transparent, which is why we always work with sustainable regional and local print shops.

#proudtoprintvegan

Contact us

Wanna make culture?

You can contact us at any time.

Publisher

Helena Melikov & Christian Dettler / © Jana Kießer

Communication and transparency

Transparent communication is important for us. Therefore, we work with project management software. Everyone involved has access to the current status of our joint project at all times, communication and decision-making channels remain short and tasks are clearly structured.

Publications on contemporary art, photography and social interest.

The current climate situation has shown how important it is for museums to act in a sustainable and thus future-proof manner when planning and producing their exhibition catalogues.

Our sustainable concepts create space for artistic and social issues. Instead of mainstream discourses, we follow inspiring perspectives that point us towards a possible future and give sustainability a value. In our open, experimental and individual processes with established and young artists, we create publications that define the possibilities of print media and consider their artistic work.

The complexity of our publications in terms of content and design is also reflected in their multilingualism – which also positions us on the international market.

Books

Thinking exhibitions forward

Our audience-oriented concepts for exhibition catalogues ensure that the content and design requirements of the publication match the expectations of the exhibition. At the same time, the potential is used to expand the reach of the publication, the exhibition and the artists. As a publisher, our mission is to contribute to the awareness of the publication, the exhibition and the artists through social media and our distribution.

For example, the bookazine “grenzenlos” takes up the themes of the exhibition Grenzenlos: Kolonialismus, Industrie und Widerstand, the colonial heritage of the city of Hamburg, and offers further perspectives on the theme of BIPoC that also work without the exhibition in the publication.

networks

We believe that art should create a strong connection between the artists themselves, their community and the spaces they fill with their creativity. To strengthen this connection, we offer video and photo accompaniment at vernissage or finissage in our network. The community is involved and committed through mood videos, posts and behind-the-scenes recordings.

Partner

Cooperation to date

Contact us

Wanna make culture?

You can contact us at any time.

Instagram Wall

Verlag

Shift Books

Werte

Neben ästhetischem Anspruch auf individuelle Buchgestaltung, Haptik und Material legen wir unseren Fokus auf nachhaltige Produktion. #proudtoprintvegan

Collaborative

Wir glauben, dass wir gemeinsam neue Synergien schaffen können, um ungeahntes kreatives Potenzial in jedem freizusetzen.

Empowering

Wir unterstützen Ideen, die neue und alte
Barrieren überwinden und damit einzigartige Möglichkeiten schaffen, kreative Inhalte zu fördern, zu gestalten und zu publizieren.

Foward Thinking

Wir denken, dass neue Technologien und andere
Denkansätze uns dabei helfen, Innovator in
einer traditionellen Branche zu sein.

Bücher

Print und Digital verbinden

Unsere Ausstellungspublikation POWER PLANTS des Berliner Künstler*innenduos kennedy+swan zeigt wie sich klassische Printmedien ins 21. Jahrhundert transportieren lassen: Mittels Smartphone-App erwachen die virtuell argumentierten Bilder zum Leben, die Publikation wird interaktiv – eine Symbiose zwischen digitalen und gedruckten Inhalten. Wir kreieren Veröffentlichungen von Morgen. Dazu gehört, dass wir auf dem Spielplatz der neuen Medien alle Geräte ausprobieren und mitdenken.

Nachhaltig und vegan publizieren

Als Kunstbuchverlag publizieren wir unsere Bücher ganzheitlich nachhaltig und nach Möglichkeit vegan. Mit der Monografie der Künstlerin Bianca Kennedy konnten wir bei Papier, Farben, Faden und Hilfsstoffen komplett auf tierische Bestandteile verzichten und damit alle Kriterien der V-Label Zertifizierung erfüllen. Uns ist wichtig, dass unsere Produktions- und Lieferprozesse kurz sind, deshalb arbeiten wir grundsätzlich mit nachhaltigen regionalen und lokalen Druckereien zusammen. 
#proudtoprintvegan

Kontakt

Inspiriert von unserer Arbeit?

Wir wollen mehr über Ihre Wünsche erfahren – schreiben Sie uns!

Publisher

Helena Melikov & Christian Dettler / © Jana Kießer

Kommunikation und Transparenz

Vom ersten Gespräch bis zur finalen Umsetzung – wir legen Wert auf eine offene Kommunikation: Deshalb verwenden wir eine Projektmanagement-Software. So haben alle Beteiligten jederzeit Zugriff auf den aktuellen Stand unseres gemeinsamen Projekts, die Kommunikations- und Entscheidungswege bleiben kurz und die Aufgaben sind klar strukturiert.  

Bücher für zeitgenössische Kunst, Fotografie und Gesellschaft

Unser Programm schafft Raum für künstlerische wie gesellschaftliche Themen. Statt Mainstreamdiskursen, folgen wir inspirierenden Perspektiven, die uns Wege in eine mögliche Zukunft weisen.

In unserem offenen experimentellen und individuellen Prozess mit etablierten wie jungen Künstler*innen entstehen Publikationen, die die Möglichkeiten von Printmedien neu definieren und deren künstlerische Arbeit berücksichtigen.

Die inhaltliche und gestalterische Vielschichtigkeit unserer Publikationen findet sich auch in deren Mehrsprachigkeit wieder – wodurch wir uns auf dem internationalen Markt positionieren.

Bücher

Ausstellung weiterdenken

Mit unseren Konzepten für Ausstellungskataloge, entwickeln wir Publikationen, die inhaltlich und gestalterisch für sich stehen. Damit knüpfen sie an die Ausstellung an, führen über sie hinaus und schöpfen damit gleichzeitig weitere Potenziale, wie eine breite Leser*innenschaft aus. Als Verlag ist es uns ein Anliegen, mit den sozialen Medien und unserem Vertrieb zur Wahrnehmung der Publikation, der Ausstellung und von Künstler*innen beizutragen

Das Bookazine „grenzenlos“ etwa, greift die Themen der Ausstellung Grenzenlos: Kolonialismus, Industrie und Widerstand, wie das koloniale Erbe der Stadt Hamburg auf und bietet weiterführend Perspektiven aufs Thema von BIPoC.

Netzwerke nutzen

Wir verstehen uns als Bindeglied zwischen Kunstschaffenden, ihrer Community und den Räumen, die sie mit ihrer Kreativität füllen. Um diese Verbindung zu stärken bieten wir zur etwa Vernissage oder Finissage eine Video- und Fotobegleitung an. Mit den Moodvideos, Posts und den Behind the Scenes Aufnahmen, die so entstehen, ist die Community immer dabei.

Partner

Bisherige Zusammenarbeit

Kontakt

Inspiriert von unserer Arbeit?

Wir wollen mehr über Ihre Wünsche erfahren – schreiben Sie uns!

Instagram Wall